Why I’m making this blog…

I’ve had far more time than usual to cook over the past week…

Light winter meal

Light winter meal = roasted dumpling squash, baby arugula salad with mango and red onion with homemade rice wine vinaigrette, and barley risotto-ish style

Why? For the simple and quite sad reason that the SiriusXM channel I was doing a daily life coaching/whole living show on was not renewed for 2013.  While we have new broadcast projects underway (TBA!), my schedule is less demanding at this point in time.
I guess the new void has left me yearning to share in new and fun ways, too.

So, I decided to share a little something about food…

The kitchen is an important space in my home. It’s a place where love, creativity, curiosity, formal technical skills, courage, and joy come together.  It’s a place where trial and error is embraced and celebrated.  It’s both a place where people come together in celebration and where I spend solo, even meditative, time fusing ingredients together.  Not to mention, it’s a place where I frequently have a date with NPR, too.  What’s created in the kitchen not only fuels life, but is a reflection of who we are and where we’ve traveled.

As a yoga teacher and life coach, I’m passionate about eating well and buying foods that are friendlier for our earth whenever possible.  Likewise, I’m always keen on doing this while saving a buck or two.  Yeah – I have no formal culinary training, but I’m an avid cook who grew up in a quite a lively kitchen.  With all this in mind, may recipes featured on this blog benefit both belly and wallet and may the stories entertain. (Hopefully documenting my culinary failures can save you time, too.)

As someone who will be a wife in less than 2 weeks, many of the meals featured on this site will be for 2 (we’ll be having a tiny, tiny wedding).  Everything can be halved or multiplied.  Oh – we also just moved a little deeper into Brooklyn in order to have more space.  I hope this means more budget friendly entertaining which I’ll certainly write about!

I am forever indebted to my mother for planting my deep rooted appreciation for wholesome, homemade food.

Food posts to appear very soon…

2 comments
  1. Love this Sophie! Kudos on redirecting your time and energy. I love this idea and can’t wait to read more! Congrats!

    • Thank you, Carin! And, Happy New Year to you!! Hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

