Ghee… How I Love Ghee!

I’ll be honest – I’ve been cooking far more food than I’ve been writing about lately! The dishes I’ve made over the past week have included white bean and Swiss chard soup, fragrant red lentils, and French style chicken roasted in a Dutch oven pot.  While I hope to share some of these recipes soon, I’ve had my hand in a few other pots.  I just completed and launched my new website www.CoachwithSophie.com. (Feel free to check it out!)  I’ve also been helping my husband with promotional materials for his new book, Love in the Time of Algorithms, which just hit the shelves on January 24.  Learn more about it at www.bydanslater.com.  And, Fannie Cohen and I are getting ready to roll out the first few episodes of our new podcast about modern faith and spirituality called “Doing It”. Stay tuned!

So, instead of sharing a recipe today, I wanted to repost a little thing I wrote on ghee and why I LOVE it so… especially when the weather is cold.

ghee

Here you go:

Ghee, or clarified butter, looks like liquid gold.  Did you know that in the Indian science of Ayurveda it’s also esteemed like gold?  As the 16th century Ayurveda text the Bhavaprakasha states, “Ghee is sweet in taste and cooling in energy, rejuvenating, good for the eyes and vision, kindles digestion, bestows luster and beauty, enhances memory and stamina, increases intellect, promotes longevity, is an aphrodisiac and protects the body from various diseases.”

In Ayurveda, the golden rich cow’s milk product is used both internally and externally.  It’s consumed alone and with food, and also used for therapeutic massage, enema, and even to treat the eyes.   Ghee is a key ingredient in dishes throughout India and elsewhere in South East Asia.  It’s certainly one of my favorite things to eat along side dosa or roti.  Ghee is also used regularly in Hindu, Buddhist, and Sikh religious ceremonies, and to fuel oil lamps.

So, why is something so fatty so good?

Healthy and pure fat, like ghee, is critically important to our diet.  Ghee helps lubricate and nourish the connective tissue and joints, keeping the body flexible and more pain free.  It’s also believed to increase digestive fire and improve absorption and assimilation.  Studies even suggest that ghee reduces negative cholesterol in the body (though those with high cholesterol should still use is sparingly).

Ghee is made by slowly heating butter until the water evaporates and the milk solids separate from the fat.  What’s left is a very fatty, nutty tasting dairy product that contains butyric acid, a fatty acid with antiviral and anti-cancer properties.   The clarification process also removes the coagulated lactose from the butter, making ghee suitable to lactose intolerant people.

I really love this organic ghee.

I really love this organic ghee.

Incorporate ghee into your diet today!  You can purchase ghee online or at your local health food or international store.  Or, make your own!  I found this nice recipe online.  Buy or make organic ghee whenever possible and use it as a substitute for butter, margarine, or oil in just about any dish.  I like to stir a little into my morning oatmeal, put a dollop on rice or cous cous, or spread a bit on toast.

Consume a little everyday (or a few times per week) and your body will thank you.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

