Why My Mother Should Be My Co-Blogger

If you read this blog regularly, you might be well aware that my mother is my culinary encyclopedia and lifelong cooking teacher.  She ceaselessly inspires me to be a more skilled and curious cook.  Since moving back to Connecticut almost 2 weeks ago, I’ve been trying to persuade my mother, who lives relatively close to our new home, to be my co-blogger.  I’m happy to announce that she’s definitely interested. We just have to carve out some time to sit down and get organized.

In the meantime, I thought I’d share this delicious, very simple, and light meal my mother sent me photos of a few weeks back. What is it?

25631-0

Eggs in a vegetable nest. Here are the eggs sizzling away in their chard and kale nest.

The Cost:

Delicious and Cheap… I know that much! My mom actually got the eggs and greens from my Aunt Martha’s farm in Katonah, NY.

What You Do:

25627-0

1. Gather your ingredients. For 2 you’ll want:

  • 4 Eggs
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 Generous bunch of Swiss chard with stems
  • 1 Nice bunch of Kale
  • Cheddar or Parmesan to sprinkle on top, shredded

2. Wash and trim the greens. Keep the Swiss chard stems and chop into 1/2 inch pieces.

25628-0

Swiss chard stems.

Organic Swiss chard and kale from Martha's vegetable greenhouse.

Organic Swiss chard and kale from Martha’s vegetable greenhouse.

3. Heat a medium skillet with a bit of olive oil. Sauté the onion and garlic until tender. Toss in the greens and let them cook until softened. Throw in some salt and pepper.

4. Once greens are close to being fully cooked, create 4 little wells with a wooden spoon. Crack the eggs into the wells, one by one. Keep on heat until eggs are cooked through. If you please, top off with a little cheese and let that just melt. Remove from heat.

5. Use a large spoon and carefully dole out onto 2 plates.

25634-0

My mother served this with some Spanish rice, which looks awesome.

Do you have a favorite Egg in the Nest recipe? Please share about it here.

Leave a Reply

